What is a Certified Prevention Specialist?

People working in preventative care

A Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) is an individual that helps communities and individuals prevent issues in public health in various domains.


  • Planning & Evaluation
  • Prevention Education & Service Delivery
  • Communication
  • Community Organization
  • Public Policy & Environmental Change
  • Professional Growth & Responsibility

Certification allows prevention professionals:

  • Recognition
  • Accountability
  • Enhanced career standing and the potential for advancement

For additional details, requirements for education and experience, applications, and a list of frequently asked questions, see nevadacertboard.org or contact Natalie Powell, npowell@casat.org.

The cost for initial certification is $255 ($250 if paid by check).